How do I make this kind of bass?

How-To's written by members of this site... Don't know how to do it? Stop crying and read.

Moderators: PEPCORE, SweetPeaPod, BreakforceOne, JohnMerrik

How do I make this kind of bass?

Postby iconochasm » Tue Aug 03, 2010 2:01 am

Hey all, I'm pretty new to actually making my own synth/bass instead of just using presets so just bear with me.
I'm wondering how to make the kind of bass heard here, most noticeably at 1:30: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9DRo3eFJUg
I've heard it used by artists like VSnares, Rotator, Mu-Ziq, etc.
Sounds Juno-ish to me, and I'm going to feel retarded if that's what it is.

tl;dr, link, 1:30, bass, how to achieve that sound.

kthxbai :D

Postby ErotiCore SteNch » Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:40 pm

the infamous wobble

Hardcore Member

Postby DJ Dijitol Junkey » Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:33 pm

try youtube. dub step bass, wobble bass. anything like that. it's really easy to do actually.

Postby iconochasm » Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:37 pm

see it sounds a bit different than just a standard wobble to me,
the cutoff automation isn't so regimented, like it doesn't have a steady beat so much.
Idk. I think making a reese and adding filters and automating them will probably work.
oh and pitch bending.

Hardcore Member

Postby DJ Dijitol Junkey » Sat Aug 07, 2010 12:59 am

You can modulate the oscillator with a knob as apposed to having it be restricted by the BPM with Massive. It actually defaults to this I think.

free pwny ridez!

Postby producer_snafu » Sat Aug 07, 2010 3:29 am

best way to go about it

step 1 make a reese synth if yo do not know how to make a reese synth take 2 ocilators set them to saw wav, slightly detune one of the oscillators pitch till you get a satisfide with the way the pitch modulates the speed at your lowest desired note