Dj'ing breakcore

Gear Debates, Reviews, Rants, and Raves. And of course a touch of bragging.

Moderators: PEPCORE, SweetPeaPod, BreakforceOne, JohnMerrik

CoreCore Member

Dj'ing breakcore

Postby Higgins » Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:45 pm

So since we last talked I graduated from mixing shitty trance....but just trying and thinking about it...what is the best method for mixing breakcore?

1337 P0ZT3r

Postby fap* » Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:06 am

drunk!

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::fap*:::::

n3wb

Postby .dD! » Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:46 am

Very, very true.

CoreCore Member

Postby Higgins » Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:47 am

alright, awsome....time to get fucked up

n3wb

Postby darwinarmy » Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:20 pm

fap* wrote:.

drunk!

jajajajaja :D

CoreCore Member

Postby Alan_ » Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:28 pm

I like using cdj's or a midi controller, as you can cut tunes up and extend sections, lay samples over tracks, get creative with layering sound effects...indispensable for mixing songs that are only a couple minutes long.

CoreCore Member

Postby somebedroomdj » Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:40 pm

Here's my view on it.

I think breakcore is the hardest genre to mix because it's so varied and also because being somewhat "unpolished" is part of what makes it great. Because of this, the sonic textures you have to work with can easily stick out like a sore thumb from one another. It really needs to be done aggressively, imo.

Best to focus on the kicks for getting it beatmatched. Then focus on the common thread, which would be the frantic breaks in many cases, for making the tracks flow into one another. Lots of cutting back and forth and such. If you have a couple of really intricate snare rushes, you can play them off one another and then cut to the incoming track at just the right moment when next drop hits.