Multiple firewire busses on one laptop

Gear Debates, Reviews, Rants, and Raves. And of course a touch of bragging.

Moderators: PEPCORE, SweetPeaPod, BreakforceOne, JohnMerrik

Supah No0b
User avatar
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Norfolk, VA

Multiple firewire busses on one laptop

Postby shmegma » Mon May 25, 2009 2:21 pm

I have ONE built-in firewire 800 port on my MacBookPro, it runs awesomely: I HAVE NO PROBLEMS WITH ONE BUS.

If! I were to get an express card which adds two more busses, and ran some more offboard gear through them, as in I had multiple in/out gearboxes, how much CPU drain could I expect? And latency IS an issue...

Does anyone know how much a single firewire bus uses resources? Two? Three? I want THREE.

The Horse Lord!
User avatar
Posts: 556
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Killwaukee, Wisconsin

Postby HORSE FORCE » Mon May 25, 2009 4:15 pm

i dont know why you would need another one or two firewire busses as 99% of firewire devices are daisychain-able. most firewire devices have two ports on them so you can plug one into another. right now i have an audio interface and 4 hard drives plugged into my mac and they all work just fine. i frequently write to the one at the end of the chain.

Supah No0b
User avatar
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Norfolk, VA

Postby shmegma » Wed May 27, 2009 12:25 am

no lag? I'm also interested in my main drive being a solidstate, with backups being 7200RPM platters....anyone?!...

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests