Ableton live questions.

Want to talk about software? Editing tools? Effects Processors? This is the place to do it!

Moderators: PEPCORE, SweetPeaPod, BreakforceOne, JohnMerrik

CoreCore Member

Ableton live questions.

Postby Infekkted » Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:53 pm

Ok,I'm a bit new to the software and still find it difficult to use,though I've been informed it's pretty easy.I got some questions,tho:
1)can you slice manually the loops that you import?
2)how the hell can someone adjust keys to some samples and make them play?cuz when I adjust a key to a sample and push that key(we're talking about keyboard)no sound comes out.
3)how can someone improvise with the keys?Even when I use the drum rack,and because my soundcard has a little latency,when I push/release the keys,the sound is produced/stopped right after I push/release the button-that is,without quantization of quarter/eight/etc. .Is there any way someone can overcome this,or just improve their timing?

Maximum Pwnrdrive

Re: Ableton live questions.

Postby rokhausen » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:02 pm

1) yes, in arrangement view
2) turn off the little icon near the top right of your screen that looks like a piano... if that doesn't work, check the manual?
3) you can adjust latency in the preferences menu. also, there's a delay compensation parameter for each track you can set yourself. i usually subtract from 0 ms whatever the preferences window tells me my overall latency is.

pixel mod

Postby rtificial » Mon Jan 12, 2009 2:14 am

answer to
1. Yes, in Live verison 7, drag a loop to a audio track. Right click the loop and select "slice to new midi track". Make sure you have "warp" selected on the loop also. Then live gives you the option of slicing by warp marker(which you can control) or by bar, notes. There is also some slicing presets for you to choose also for ready made effects for slices.