"Send to pianoroll"

Want to talk about software? Editing tools? Effects Processors? This is the place to do it!

Moderators: PEPCORE, SweetPeaPod, BreakforceOne, JohnMerrik

Is Babylon retarded for not getting this?

Quite so
67%
I'm equally retarded
33%

Total votes : 6
Pwner

"Send to pianoroll"

Postby Babylon Disco » Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:41 am

Guys and gals, seriously... help me out.
I'm just getting into FL8 after having used 6 for a long while, and I notice that there's this kickass-thing called "send to pianoroll" (in slicex, for example)
The thing is that I've only managed to use it 2 times, and I don't know what I did to get it working. It just stays gray and un-clickable.

So, how do you get it to function properly in slicex? Or any other plugin for that matter.

Pwner

Postby Babylon Disco » Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:39 pm

And furthermore, how can I use the X/Y-controls in SliceX? I know what they do, I just can't seem to do something useful with them.

CoreCore Member

Postby birth control » Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:53 pm

I don't have any FL anymore.. so shoot if I am wrong...

X-Y modulation - Can be used to mix between breaks and offsets of breaks or samples alike.. There are 2 channels in slicex (deck A&B) for layering drums so to use the X-Y to its full potential you need to have boths decks bumping something, then in the Layer drop down menu assign them to the X-Y.

Piano Roll - Load a instrument, record in your MIDI score or whatever..right click on the channel settings, "send to piano roll".. Alt.. if you are without MIDI, load your sample or instrument, channel settings, send to piano roll and draw your score by hand...

Piano roll is excellent with the slicer you can manipulate each individual hit via right clicking on the notes for note vol. pitch. resonane. freq. etc...

anyway, I hope this is somewhat coherent to you! If not I'm sure someone who actually uses FL will be able to help you...

oh yeah and "Getting away with murder" :wink:

Pwner